Consortium for History of Science, Technology and Medicine
Search Results for Germantown exactBoys exactClub exactGermantown exactPhiladelphia exactPa in subject [X]
Results: 40 Items  Page: 2  Next
Institution
Format
1Title:  [Man carrying child on his back, Boys Parlors Camp, Wildwood, NJ]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Photograph showing a man and boy from the Boys’ Parlors Association wearing bathing suits at Wildwood, N.J. The man carries the boy on his back. Another boy wearing loose fitting clothing stands next to them on the sidewalk. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. Wildwood began developing as a coastal resort town in the 1890s, growing dramatically in popularity in the 1950s. The area was incorporated as a city in 1912. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: gelatin silver print; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Children | Fashion | Recreation New Jersey Wildwood | Gelatin silver prints | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
2Title:  [Man carrying child on his back], Boys Parlors Camp, Wildwood, NJ   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a man and boy from the Boys' Parlors Association wearing bathing suits at Wildwood, N.J. The man carries the boy on his back. Another boy wearing loose fitting clothing stands next to them on the sidewalk. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. Wildwood began developing as a coastal resort town in the 1890s, growing dramatically in popularity in the 1950s. The area was incorporated as a city in 1912. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film negative; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Children | Fashion | Recreation New Jersey Wildwood | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
3Title:  [Boy with an umbrella and a dog, Boys Parlors Camp, Wildwood, NJ]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Photograph showing a young man from the Boys’ Parlors Association standing in a field in front of a group of tents at Wildwood, N.J. He carries an open umbrella and wears striped pants and suspenders. A small, black dog rests between his feet. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. Wildwood began developing as a coastal resort town in the 1890s, growing dramatically in popularity in the 1950s. The area was incorporated as a city in 1912. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: gelatin silver print; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Animals | Children | Dogs | Fashion | Portraits | Tents New Jersey Wildwood | Recreation New Jersey Wildwood | Gelatin silver prints | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
4Title:  [Scene at night, Boys Parlors Camp, Wildwood, NJ]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Photograph showing a night-time view of a building in Wildwood used by the Boys’ Parlors Association and lit by lanterns. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. Wildwood began developing as a coastal resort town in the 1890s, growing dramatically in popularity in the 1950s. The area was incorporated as a city in 1912. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: gelatin silver print; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Buildings New Jersey Wildwood | Recreation New Jersey Wildwood | Gelatin silver prints | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
5Title:  [Boy with an inner tube, Boys Parlors Camp, Wildwood, NJ]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Photograph showing a boy from the Boys' Parlors Association laying in the sand on the Wildwood beach with an inner tube around his shoulders. He wears a bathing costume and is surrounded by a coil of rope. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. Wildwood began developing as a coastal resort town in the 1890s, growing dramatically in popularity in the 1950s. The area was incorporated as a city in 1912. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: gelatin silver print; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Children | Beaches New Jersey Wildwood | Fashion | Portraits | Recreation New Jersey Wildwood | Gelatin silver prints | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
6Title:  [Group in rowboat, Boys Parlors Camp, Wildwood, NJ]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Photograph showing a group of boys and young men from the Boys’ Parlors Association in a rowboat on the Wildwood shoreline. Four boys in the center of the boat hold oars to push the boat further into the water. Most of the boys wear bathing costumes. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. Wildwood began developing as a coastal resort town in the 1890s, growing dramatically in popularity in the 1950s. The area was incorporated as a city in 1912. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: gelatin silver print; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Boats New Jersey Wildwood | Children | Fashion | Oceans | Recreation New Jersey Wildwood | Gelatin silver prints | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
7Title:  [Group in bathing attire, Boys Parlors Camp, Wildwood, NJ]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Photograph showing a group of men and boys from the Boys’ Parlors Association posed in bathing attire at the Wildwood shore. The first row of boys sits in the sand, the man on the left kneels and the rest of the group stands. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. Wildwood began developing as a coastal resort town in the 1890s, growing dramatically in popularity in the 1950s. The area was incorporated as a city in 1912. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: gelatin silver print; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Beaches New Jersey Wildwood | Children | Fashion | Group portraits | Recreation New Jersey Wildwood | Gelatin silver prints | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
8Title:  [Climbing a tree, Boys Parlors Camp, Wildwood, NJ]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Photograph showing a group of boys from the Boys’ Parlors Association climbing a tree at Wildwood, N.J. A man with a hammer stands under the tree nailing boards into the trunk. An American flag flies off a makeshift flagpole in the background on the left. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. Wildwood began developing as a coastal resort town in the 1890s, growing dramatically in popularity in the 1950s. The area was incorporated as a city in 1912. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: gelatin silver print; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Children | Fashion | Flags American | Play (Recreation) | Recreation New Jersey Wildwood | Trees | Gelatin silver prints | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
9Title:  [Climbing a tree, Boys Parlors Camp, Wildwood, NJ]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Photograph showing a group of boys from the Boys’ Parlors Association climbing a tree at Wildwood, N.J. An American flag flies off a makeshift flagpole in the background on the left. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. Wildwood began developing as a coastal resort town in the 1890s, growing dramatically in popularity in the 1950s. The area was incorporated as a city in 1912. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: gelatin silver print; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Children | Fashion | Play (Recreation) | Recreation New Jersey Wildwood | Trees | Gelatin silver prints | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
10Title:  [Construction of the Germantown Boys' Club near 10 W. Penn, Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Photograph showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition located between two brick buildings at 10 West Penn Street. A wooden fence separates the building on the right from construction debris piled on the sidewalk. Two men walk down the road that runs in front of the buildings to the right. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: gelatin silver print; 4 x 5 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Construction Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Gelatin silver prints | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
11Title:  [Construction of Germantown Boys' Club near 10 W. Penn, Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition located between two brick buildings. A wooden fence separates the building on the left from construction debris piled on the sidewalk. A road runs in front of the buildings on the right. A sign advertising the builders is visible over the construction. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Construction Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
12Title:  [Construction of the Germantown Boys' Club near 10 W. Penn, Germantown. Man walking in foreground]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition located between two brick buildings. A wooden fence separates the building on the left from construction debris piled on the sidewalk. Two men walk down the road that runs in front of the buildings to the right. A sign advertising the builders is visible over the construction. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Construction Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
13Title:  [Patriotic decorations on building facade near Germantown Boys' Club, 10 W. Penn, Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a view of a building draped with American flags and patriotic bunting. A group of men works on the Germantown Boys' Club addition next to a brick wall and a pile of boards in the foreground. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Construction Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Flags American | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
14Title:  [Patriotic decorations on building facade near the Germantown Boys' Club, 10 W. Penn Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a view of a building draped with American flags and patriotic bunting. A group of men works on the Germantown Boys' Club addition next to a brick wall and a pile of boards in the foreground. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Construction Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Flags American | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
15Title:  [Patriotic decorations on building facade near Germantown Boys' Club, 10 W. Penn Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a view of a building draped with American flags and patriotic bunting. The building to the right has a sign that reads "John McConnell." A group of men works on the Germantown Boys' Club addition next to a brick wall and a pile of boards in the foreground. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Construction Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Flags American | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
16Title:  [Street and building construction of Germantown Boys' Club, 10 W. Penn Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition. Various construction materials and workers spill out onto the road that runs to the right of the site. A man stands near a wooden fence in the foreground and a building with a sign reading "John McConnell, horseshoer" is visible in the background. A sign advertising the builders hangs over the construction. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Construction Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
17Title:  Carpenter Shop, Boy's Parlor, 62 Church Lane, front door, [Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Glass negative showing the carpenter shop at the Boy's Parlor, later Germantown Boys' Club, filled with workbenches and tools. A grindstone sits in the corner. Two hand saws hang next to a window on the opposite wall. The rest of the walls are decorated with a foral motif wallpaper. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: glass negative; 4 x 5 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Carpenter shops Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Church Lane (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Glass negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
18Title:  Carpenter Shop, Boy's Parlor, [62 Church Lane], from side opposite door, [Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Glass negative showing the carpenter shop at the Boy's Parlor, later Germantown Boys' Club, filled with workbenches and tools. Two hand saws and a chalkboard hang on the far wall. The rest of the walls are decorated with a foral motif wallpaper. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: glass negative; 4 x 5 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Carpenter shops Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Church Lane (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Glass negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
19Title:  [Exterior view of the building of the] Boys Parlor [25 West Penn Street, Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Glass negative showing a view of the Boys' Parlor, a two-story brick building on West Penn Street, seen from across the rooftop of another building. A facade with a sign that reads "J. Kyle's Germantown Storage Warehouses" stands in the background. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: glass negative; 6.5 x 8.5 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Buildings Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Glass negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
20Title:  [Exterior view of the building of the] Boys Parlor [25 West Penn Street], upright   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Glass negative showing a view of the Boys' Parlor, a two-story brick building on West Penn Street, seen from across the rooftop of another building. A facade with a sign that reads "J. Kyle's Germ[antown] Storage Ware[house]" stands in the background. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: glass negative; 8.5 x 6.5 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Buildings Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Glass negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
Page: 2  Next