Consortium for History of Science, Technology and Medicine
Search Results for X andClub in the full text  [X]
Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) in subject [X]
Results: 8 Items  Page: 1
Institution
Format
1Title:  Price Homestead, Ladies' Club House, Manheim Grounds postcards   
 Creator:  Brightbill, George M. 
 Notes:  Exterior views of the octagonal shaped Price Homestead, incorporated into the Germantown Cricket Club (or Manheim Grounds) as the Ladies' Club House. The ladies were responsible for maintaining the garden between the club and the dormitories. They were offered a bicycle membership in the winter months and were also provided with two putting greens. Whist matches (the forerunner of bridge) were popular in the 1890s. 
 Extent:  2 photomechanical prints (postcards): photolithograph, color; 9 x 15 cm.(3.5 x 5.5 in.) 
 Subjects:  Clubhouses Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Manheim Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West -- 411 | Photomechanical prints Color 1900-1910 | Postcards 1900-1910

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
2Title:  Old house. Side of Boys Club Camp   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing three men from the Germantown Boys' Club walking across a field toward a two-story wooden building. Two cows stand on either side of the men. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film negative; 5.75 x 3.5 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Animals | Cows | Dwellings Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
3Title:  [Construction of the Germantown Boys' Club near 10 W. Penn, Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Photograph showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition located between two brick buildings at 10 West Penn Street. A wooden fence separates the building on the right from construction debris piled on the sidewalk. Two men walk down the road that runs in front of the buildings to the right. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: gelatin silver print; 4 x 5 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Construction Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Gelatin silver prints | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
4Title:  [Construction of Germantown Boys' Club near 10 W. Penn, Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition located between two brick buildings. A wooden fence separates the building on the left from construction debris piled on the sidewalk. A road runs in front of the buildings on the right. A sign advertising the builders is visible over the construction. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Construction Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
5Title:  [Construction of the Germantown Boys' Club near 10 W. Penn, Germantown. Man walking in foreground]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition located between two brick buildings. A wooden fence separates the building on the left from construction debris piled on the sidewalk. Two men walk down the road that runs in front of the buildings to the right. A sign advertising the builders is visible over the construction. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Construction Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
6Title:  [Street and building construction of Germantown Boys' Club, 10 W. Penn Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition. Various construction materials and workers spill out onto the road that runs to the right of the site. A man stands near a wooden fence in the foreground and a building with a sign reading "John McConnell, horseshoer" is visible in the background. A sign advertising the builders hangs over the construction. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Construction Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
7Title:  Carpenter Shop, Boy's Parlor, 62 Church Lane, front door, [Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Glass negative showing the carpenter shop at the Boy's Parlor, later Germantown Boys' Club, filled with workbenches and tools. A grindstone sits in the corner. Two hand saws hang next to a window on the opposite wall. The rest of the walls are decorated with a foral motif wallpaper. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: glass negative; 4 x 5 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Carpenter shops Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Church Lane (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Glass negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
8Title:  Carpenter Shop, Boy's Parlor, [62 Church Lane], from side opposite door, [Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Glass negative showing the carpenter shop at the Boy's Parlor, later Germantown Boys' Club, filled with workbenches and tools. Two hand saws and a chalkboard hang on the far wall. The rest of the walls are decorated with a foral motif wallpaper. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: glass negative; 4 x 5 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Carpenter shops Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Church Lane (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Glass negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record