Consortium for History of Science, Technology and Medicine
Search Results for X andClub in the full text  [X]
Library Company in institution [X]
Film negatives in subject [X]
Results: 7 Items  Page: 1
Institution
Library Company[X]
Format
1Title:  Old house. Side of Boys Club Camp   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing three men from the Germantown Boys' Club walking across a field toward a two-story wooden building. Two cows stand on either side of the men. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film negative; 5.75 x 3.5 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Animals | Cows | Dwellings Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
2Title:  [Boy near the water], G[erman]t[ow]n Boys' Club, Stone Harbor Camp [NJ]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a boy from the Germantown Boys' Club standing at the edge of the water at Stone Harbor. He wears a hat with a floppy brim and suspenders. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film negative; 1.5 x 2.5 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) People | Bays (Bodies of water) New Jersey | Children | Fashion | Portraits | Stone Harbor (N.J.) | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
3Title:  [Group near the water], G[erman]t[ow]n Boys' Club, Stone Harbor Camp, [NJ]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a group of boys from the Germantown Boys' Club sitting on an overturned canoe near the water at Stone Harbor. A flag flies above them and buildings are visible on the far shore. The boys all wear hats and white shirts. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film negative; 1.5 x 2.5 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) Social life | Bays (Bodies of water) New Jersey | Canoes New Jersey Stone Harbor | Children | Fashion | Stone Harbor (N.J.) | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
4Title:  [Construction of Germantown Boys' Club near 10 W. Penn, Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition located between two brick buildings. A wooden fence separates the building on the left from construction debris piled on the sidewalk. A road runs in front of the buildings on the right. A sign advertising the builders is visible over the construction. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Construction Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
5Title:  [Construction of the Germantown Boys' Club near 10 W. Penn, Germantown. Man walking in foreground]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition located between two brick buildings. A wooden fence separates the building on the left from construction debris piled on the sidewalk. Two men walk down the road that runs in front of the buildings to the right. A sign advertising the builders is visible over the construction. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Construction Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
6Title:  [Street and building construction of Germantown Boys' Club, 10 W. Penn Germantown]   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition. Various construction materials and workers spill out onto the road that runs to the right of the site. A man stands near a wooden fence in the foreground and a building with a sign reading "John McConnell, horseshoer" is visible in the background. A sign advertising the builders hangs over the construction. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Construction Pennsylvania Philadelphia | Germantown (Philadelphia, Pa.) | Penn Street (Philadelphia, Pa.) -- West | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record 
7Title:  [Four boys and a man with a dog] Boys Parlors Camp, Wildwood, NJ   
 Creator:  Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948 
 Notes:  Film negative showing four boys and a man from the Boys' Parlors Club standing in front of a group of tents at Wildwood, N.J. The boy in the center hold an umbrella and two other boys carry a baseball bat and glove. A small, black dog rests between the center boy's legs. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. Wildwood began developing as a coastal resort town in the 1890s, growing dramatically in popularity in the 1950s. The area was incorporated as a city in 1912. 
 Extent:  1 photograph: film negative; 3 x 4 in. 
 Subjects:  Germantown Boys' Club (Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa.) | Animals | Children | Dogs | Fashion | Play (Recreation) | Tents New Jersey Wildwood | Recreation New Jersey Wildwood | Film negatives | Philadelphia artists

 
Collection:  Library Company 
 View Full Record