The Structure and Development of 21st Century Science

Hanne Andersen

American Institute of Physics

Thursday, August 11, 2022 6:30 pm EDT

American Center for Physics, College Park, Maryland AND Live Webcast

In-person Attendance at ACP RSVP
This lecture is schedule to allow in-person attendance at ACP. ACP has a vaccine mandate for all staff, guests, and visitors. Please click here to confirm your vaccination status. In addition, for added safety, the meeting space allows for social distancing. You must confirm your vaccination status to be admitted inside.
Digital Attendance via ZOOM RSVP
This lecture will also include a live webcast for those who do not wish to attend in-person.
Science has developed immensely over the last century. For example, in addressing a wider and wider range of topics, and requiring more and more resources, science has become increasingly collaborative and interdisciplinary. In this talk, I shall analyze some of the overarching epistemic implications of the way in which science has developed in recent decades, and I shall show how such an analysis can provide new perspectives on classical issues such as academic freedom, and give important guidance for ongoing debates in science policy on research organization, research funding, and strategic research planning. In closing, I shall reflect on the role of history, philosophy and sociology of science in contributing to such debates in science policy.
Speaker Bio
Hanne Andersen is a historian and philosopher of science at the University of Copenhagen in Denmark. She is particularly interested in making the history, philosophy, and sociology of science relevant to researchers and educators as well as to academic leaders and policymakers. Dr. Andersen was elected a member of the European Academy of Sciences in 2018 and corresponding member of l'Academie Internationale de Philosophie des Sciences in 2019. She is active in multiple societies including the American Association for the Advancement of Science and Philosophy of Science Association, and also serves as a member of the Danish Committee on Research Misconduct.